Every operator of a motorboat needs a card
- Renting
- Renters are exempt under state law
- Card
- California Boater Card
California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways (DBW) · checked Oct 14, 2026
Boats in the Lake Tahoe log
Driving it yourself · California
Price log · Lake Tahoe
22 prices from 6 operators’ own rate pages. “From” marks a starting price; captain and fuel show what the operator says.
| Boat | Operator | Guests | Hours | Price | Captain | Fuel | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| pontoon, 13 guestsPontoon boat | Action Watersports | 13 | — | from$209per hour | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| pontoon, 13 guestsPontoon boat | Action Watersports | 13 | 4 h | $680 | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| Pontoon boat | Lake Tahoe Boat Rentals | — | — | $950per night | Not stated | Extra, by use | Oct 14, 2026 |
| Pontoon boat | Lake Tahoe Boat Rentals | — | 5 h | $950 | Not stated | Extra, by use | Oct 14, 2026 |
| Pontoon boat | Tahoe Paradise Boat Rental | — | 4 h | from$1,099 | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| Pontoon boat | Lake Tahoe Boat Rentals | — | — | $1,150per night | Not stated | Extra, by use | Oct 14, 2026 |
| pontoon, 13 guestsPontoon boat | Action Watersports | 13 | 8 h | $1,360 | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| Pontoon boat | Tahoe Paradise Boat Rental | — | 5 h | from$1,399 | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| Pontoon boat | Tahoe Paradise Boat Rental | — | 6 h | from$1,650 | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| Pontoon boat | Tahoe Paradise Boat Rental | — | 7 h | from$1,799 | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| Pontoon boat | Tahoe Paradise Boat Rental | — | 8 h | from$1,899 | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| center console | Tahoe Sports | — | — | $224per hour | Optional, extra | Extra, by use | Oct 14, 2026 |
| Boat | Operator | Guests | Hours | Price | Captain | Fuel | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| center console | Tahoe Sports | — | 2 h | $448 | Optional, extra | Extra, by use | Oct 14, 2026 |
| center console | Tahoe Sports | — | 3 h | $672 | Optional, extra | Extra, by use | Oct 14, 2026 |
| center console | Tahoe Sports | — | 5 h | $896 | Optional, extra | Extra, by use | Oct 14, 2026 |
| center console | Tahoe Sports | — | 6 h | $1,120 | Optional, extra | Extra, by use | Oct 14, 2026 |
| center console, 8 guestsCenter console | Tahoe Sports | 8 | 7 h | $1,344 | Optional, extra | Extra, by use | Oct 14, 2026 |
| wake or ski boat | Full Throttle Tahoe Boats | — | min 2 h | $220per hour | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| wake or ski boat | Lake Tahoe Boat Rentals | — | 8 h | $1,380 | Not stated | Extra, by use | Oct 14, 2026 |
| bowrider or deck boat | Lake Tahoe Boat Rentals | — | — | $950per night | Not stated | Extra, by use | Oct 14, 2026 |
| bowrider or deck boat | Lake Tahoe Boat Rentals | — | — | $995per night | Not stated | Extra, by use | Oct 14, 2026 |
| jet ski | Action Watersports of Tahoe | — | — | from$222per hour | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
Lake Tahoe rentals in the table include pontoons, center consoles, jet skis, wake or ski boats, and bowriders or deck boats. The stated guest limits are 13 people for pontoons and 8 people for the center console. Ask the operator to confirm the boat’s length and capacity before booking.
Center-console prices offer an optional captain. Battle Born Boat Rentals separately requires a USCG licensed captain for all its boats and includes that captain in the rental price. Its double-decker pontoon accommodates up to 13 guests; compare how captain-included rentals work if nobody in your group wants to operate.
The table draws on local watersports businesses and boat-rental operators, including Tahoe Sports, Action Watersports and Lake Tahoe Boat Rentals. For other boat categories, confirm who operates the boat rather than assuming a captain is included.
The table compares published rental charges, not an all-in trip total. Prices were checked Oct 14, 2026, using operators’ own rate pages rather than platform listings. Coverage is 6 center-console prices from 1 operator, 11 pontoon prices from 3 operators, and 1 jet-ski price from 1 operator.
The remaining coverage is 2 wake-or-ski-boat prices from 2 operators and 2 bowrider-or-deck-boat prices from 1 operator. The pontoon median comes from only 3 prices at each duration: published prices span $680–$1,099 for 4 hours and $1,360–$1,899 for 8 hours. Those spans are published price ranges, not percentile ranges.
Check whether your quote is hourly, a duration package, or nightly. One wake-or-ski-boat hourly rate has a 2-hour minimum, while pontoon nightly prices run $950–$1,150 per night.
Tahoe Sports says an added driver costs a $50 facilitation fee plus $50 per hour paid directly to the driver, and fuel is extra. Center-console and bowrider prices charge fuel by gallons used; several other entries leave fuel terms unstated. Some pontoon prices list a $300 security deposit; use the calculator for quoted extras and review deposit and damage terms before paying.
Rules on the water
Every operator of a motorboat needs a card
California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways (DBW) · checked Oct 14, 2026
Local rules
Season and departures
operators list rentalspeak search monthno schedule found
Open months from operators’ pages (none found); peak months are search demand, not price.
Where boats leave from
California exempts people operating rental vessels from its California Boater Card requirement, according to California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways. Its broader rule requires motorized-vessel operators to carry the card unless an exemption applies. Read California’s boating license requirements and confirm your situation with the agency.
Nevada Department of Wildlife says boaters born on or after January 1, 1983 must complete an NDOW-approved boating education course before operating on interstate waters. Ask your rental company what education documentation it accepts for your trip. Company requirements are separate from state law: Battle Born Boat Rentals requires a licensed captain and says renters using its provided captain do not need a boating license.
TRPA requires motorized watercraft to undergo an aquatic-invasive-species inspection or have their Tahoe inspection seal checked before launching. It also requires launching from a managed ramp or marina after inspection, and missing the required inspection can lead to fines. Confirm inspection arrangements with the operator, and ask the relevant agency about alcohol restrictions and operator-age requirements.
Boat-rental searches for Lake Tahoe peak in June and July, according to Ahrefs search-demand figures. Ask your chosen operator which months its boats are available.
Battle Born Boat Rentals advertises rentals throughout the year, subject to safe conditions. Tahoe Sports says boats are available all season and publishes weekend and holiday surcharges; request the surcharge for your booking. Battle Born says it may cancel unsafe trips with a full refund, so compare weather cancellation terms before paying.
Tahoe Keys Marina is a named South Lake Tahoe departure point for Battle Born Boat Rentals and is also named by Lake Tahoe Boat Rides. Tahoe Sports lists Ski Run Boat Company and Tahoe Keys Boat Rentals as departure locations. Confirm the exact dock in your booking instructions.
Action Watersports names Lakeside Marina, Round Hill Pines Marina, and Timber Cove Marina. North Lake Tahoe Boat Rental names North Tahoe Marina.
Booking directly lets you compare a local operator’s published rate with its captain and fuel rules. Booking platforms bring together boats from multiple owners but add their own service fee and policies. Compare the final quote and cancellation terms, not just the displayed rental charge.
If you do not want to drive, compare captain-included options with rentals that let you add a driver. Battle Born includes a captain, while Tahoe Sports publishes separate driver charges. Use the day-rental cost guide to organize the extras before splitting the bill.
Notes
Pontoon median prices are $836 for 4 hours and $1,672 for 8 hours. The listed center-console price is $896 for 4 hours, with an optional captain and fuel charged separately.
California exempts rental-vessel operators from its Boater Card requirement. Nevada requires qualifying boaters born on or after January 1, 1983 to complete approved education before operating on interstate waters; confirm the requirements for your trip with the agency and rental company.
Battle Born Boat Rentals names Tahoe Keys Marina in South Lake Tahoe. Other published departure locations include Ski Run Boat Company, Lakeside Marina, and Timber Cove Marina; your booking should confirm the dock.
Tahoe Sports says fuel is not included and renters pay for fuel used. Several table entries do not state a fuel policy, so ask for that charge before comparing totals.
Sources
Each fact on this page comes from one of these pages. Operators change rates and rules; check the date and confirm the total with the operator before you pay.
Next
Lake Tahoe, 4 h pontoon boat, median $836 checked Oct 14, 2026
Open calculatorCompare boats on Sailo ↗