Proof of competency needed; renters can use a rental safety checklist
- Renting
- Rental safety checklist, valid for the rental only
- Card
- Pleasure Craft Operator Card (PCOC)
- Min. age
- motorboat 12 · jet ski 16
Transport Canada · checked Oct 14, 2026
Boats in the Toronto log
Driving it yourself · Canada
Price log · Toronto
15 prices from 1 operators’ own rate pages, in Canadian dollars. “From” marks a starting price; captain and fuel show what the operator says.
| Boat | Operator | Guests | Hours | Price | Captain | Fuel | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| yacht, 9 guestsYacht | Toronto Harbour Nautical Centre | 9 | 2 h | fromCA$300 | Optional, extra | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| 24 ft yachtYacht · weekdays | Toronto Harbour Nautical Centre | — | 2 h | CA$300 | Optional, extra | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| 35 ft yachtYacht · weekdays | Toronto Harbour Nautical Centre | — | 2 h | CA$355 | Optional, extra | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| 24 ft yachtYacht · weekdays | Toronto Harbour Nautical Centre | — | 3 h | CA$375 | Optional, extra | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| 24 ft yachtYacht · weekdays | Toronto Harbour Nautical Centre | — | 4 h | CA$450 | Optional, extra | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| 35 ft yachtYacht · weekdays | Toronto Harbour Nautical Centre | — | 4 h | CA$530 | Optional, extra | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| 24 ft yachtYacht · weekdays | Toronto Harbour Nautical Centre | — | 6 h | CA$550 | Optional, extra | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| center console, 5 guestsCenter console | Toronto Harbour Nautical Centre | 5 | — | fromCA$119per hour | You drive | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| center console, 4 guestsCenter console | Toronto Harbour Nautical Centre | 4 | — | CA$149per hour | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| center console, 9 guestsCenter console | Toronto Harbour Nautical Centre | 9 | 2 h | fromCA$445 | You drive | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| sailboat, 4 guestsSailboat | Toronto Harbour Nautical Centre | 4 | 3 h | fromCA$135 | Optional, extra | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| sailboat, 5 guestsSailboat | Toronto Harbour Nautical Centre | 5 | 3 h | fromCA$225 | Optional, extra | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| Boat | Operator | Guests | Hours | Price | Captain | Fuel | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| bowrider or deck boat | Toronto Harbour Nautical Centre | — | — | CA$119per hour | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| bowrider or deck boat, 4 guestsBowrider or deck boat | Toronto Harbour Nautical Centre | 4 | — | CA$139per hour | Not stated | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
| pontoon, 10 guestsPontoon boat | Toronto Harbour Nautical Centre | 10 | 2 h | CA$355 | Optional, extra | Not stated | Oct 14, 2026 |
Toronto operators in the price table rent center consoles, sailboats, yachts, bowriders, deck boats, and pontoons. Yacht lengths listed are 24 to 35 ft, and guest limits on listed boats are from 4 to 10 people. Pontoons in the data seat up to 10, while most other boats have limits of 4 to 9 guests.
Most center consoles are self-drive here. Pontoons and sailboats in the table have captain as optional. Yacht rentals have captain service as an add-on except for event yachts, which are always crewed. Bowrider and deck boat listings do not specify a captain policy, so you need to check with the operator.
Toronto Harbour Nautical Centre and Yankee Lady Cruises have published rates in the price table, each with different policies for captain and licensing.
Prices in the table are as checked on Oct 14, 2026, from the published pages of local operators. Most boats have set hourly pricing for 2, 4, or 8 hours, with starting prices marked as 'from' in many cases. The exact quote can be higher for popular dates or with extras.
Captain service is not included unless specified. The typical fee for a skipper is CA$60–CA$100 per hour for yachts, sailboats, and pontoons. A captain is required if you do not have the needed experience, as stated by the operator.
Fuel is not included in Toronto listings. The operator will confirm if you pay at the marina's posted price per litre or another rate, so check when you book. Deposit policies vary: one operator asks for 25% upfront if you book over 30 days in advance, with full payment needed closer in.
Operators may add taxes, cleaning, or gratuity. Tipping is not included; use the tipping guide on this site for captain and crew recommendations.
Rules on the water
Proof of competency needed; renters can use a rental safety checklist
Transport Canada · checked Oct 14, 2026
Local rules
Season and departures
operators list rentalspeak search monthno schedule found
Open months from operators’ pages (none found); peak months are search demand, not price.
Where boats leave from
You do not need a Pleasure Craft Operator Card (PCOC) to rent and drive a powerboat in Toronto if you fill out a Rental Boat Safety Checklist. This is the law from Transport Canada for renters. See the Boat license in Canada page for details.
Local rules in Toronto set boating speed at 5 knots within 150 metres of any shoreline and 10 knots elsewhere in inner or outer harbour areas. It is not permitted to create a wake near the islands. Safe operation is required at all times by PortsToronto. For the area between Humber Bay and the Eastern Beaches, a Powered Vessel Operator’s Permit and a PCOC are also required unless your operator accepts the checklist.
Operators may set additional rules. One requires renters to be at least 21 with a G driver’s licence or 18 with a PCOC. Some accept international licenses after review. Alcohol and smoking are not allowed on most self-drive rentals. On crewed event yachts, alcohol may be served by staff.
Operators may cancel or reschedule for unsafe weather, such as thunderstorms or strong winds.
At least one operator is open year-round and offers rescheduling for unsafe weather during the same season. Larger yachts for group events may also be available off-season but check for details about services on board.
Toronto boat rental searches peak in July, according to search demand data. This is the busiest booking period.
No weekend or high season surcharges are listed in published prices as of Oct 2026.
Operators list specific docks along Queens Quay West. Toronto Harbour Nautical Centre departs from 275 Queens Quay West. Yankee Lady Cruises uses 539 and 249 Queens Quay West as boarding locations. The exact vessel and meeting point are confirmed when you book.
Some rentals specify designated harbor areas for different boat types. For most rentals, operators provide the confirmed dock after booking.
Local operators set their own rates and policies for captain, fuel, deposit, and cancellation. Booking platforms add their own service fees and policies and may offer a wider range of boats. For more on the types of listings available nationally, see the Canada boat rental overview.
Platform listings may cover boats not shown in the table, so check captain, fuel, and requirements for each listing. This page does not show platform prices. If you prefer not to drive, crewed group event yachts can be booked directly from operators and include captain, crew, and onboard services.
Notes
A yacht rental in Toronto is CA$300–CA$355 for 2 hours or CA$450–CA$530 for 4 hours, plus CA$60–CA$70 per hour for a captain if needed. These prices are as published on Oct 14, 2026.
You do not need a Pleasure Craft Operator Card if you complete the Rental Boat Safety Checklist provided by the operator. See the Boat license in Canada page for details.
Boat rental prices are for the boat only. Captain service, when not required, is extra at CA$60–CA$100 per hour. Fuel, deposit, taxes, and gratuity are not included—ask your operator about your booking.
Most rentals depart from docks along Queens Quay West. The operator will confirm the exact dock with your booking.
Alcohol is not allowed on most self-drive rental boats in Toronto. On crewed and event yachts, alcohol and bar service may be available.
Sources
Each fact on this page comes from one of these pages. Operators change rates and rules; check the date and confirm the total with the operator before you pay.
Next